top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Wandering Biker

Part 8: My Bestist Buddy

Updated: Sep 20, 2018

Part 8: My Bestest Buddy Where to begin: 30+ years ago I had a long haired German Shepherd named Bradleys Spook, an AKC registered male sable color

I had “Spook” for just over 14 years when he broke his left hit while running and jumping around the property. It was a devastating loss as I got him at 6 months old and he had been my shadow everyday, no matter where I went Spook was right there....Even when I went ultralight flying, he couldn't wait until I got back on the ground.

One of the things that surprised me was no matter what girl I was dating, he would protect her. If you started walking towards her, he would move over and sit between you and her, the closer you got the more teeth he would show.... no one messed with him, and the strange thing is that he was never taught to do that, I will never forget that.

Fast forward to 30+ years later and at that time the current girlfriend wanted a dog...

a bouvier de flanders








or a Scottish deerhound



Well the bouvier de flanders is a walking mop and requires daily brushing and probably sheds like crazy, the Scottish Deer Hound has to have some hairs plucked out to remove them... and the life span is way to short, seems the bigger the dog the shorter the lifespan... I didn't want a dog that would only be around 7-8 years.

So after looking around, a litter of puppies were found only an hour away... went to look at them and there were only 3 left.... 2 females and one male. I picked the male.... he was a tiny fur ball and weighted, maybe 2-3lbs soaking wet.

I picked him up and he licked my arm and I knew he was the one... so it was a no brainier, he had been picked, but he didn't have a name yet... Went down to see him every week so he could get used to the different scents of his soon to be new home.

When he was 6 weeks old he as brought to the house so the people could see his new environment to make sure he wasn't going to be trained to fight or anything else.


He took over the place...he was to smart for his own good. The house had three steps down to a screened back porch... I took him down and put him on the concrete. The back door had a dog door already installed by the previous owner, so I knew he had never see one before and would be ok on the back porch for a little while....

I went into the house and in minutes... he had climbed the three steps and pushed his way through the pet door... he had never seen one before....was truly amazing. From that point on I knew he would become my shadow and to this day he makes sure he knows where I am.

At 7 weeks old he loved to play ball and at that young age he took a 9 hour road trip to Pa. For a visit, and now his favorite thing is go for a ride... doesn't matter if it's 5 minutes or 5 hours.

To make it easier for him, I modified my 2004 Dodge Dakota 4door, 4 wheel drive. I built a level platform in the back so he didn't have to deal with the humps and bumps of the floor... the platform is covered in carpet and he has enough room to stretch out and snooze while we are on a trip.

He was growing pretty quickly.... and seemed to get smarter and smarter.... His favorite game is and always has been playing fetch with a ball.... He doesn't like frisbees or sticks, just balls.

He loves cold air, as a tiny puppy he used to lay directly on the floor vents and there was even a little vent showing when he was there. At 14 weeks you can see that he is about 4-5 times the size of the vent....

He keeps on growing... 60lbs at 18 weeks and no fat, all muscle. He even tries to curl up in his original bed, he says he can fit.. LOL... time for a new bed





Finally got him his own large bed.... looks like he loves it...





Sometimes he can be a goof ball.... he just loves the camera.... loves to smile...



He has a fantastic disposition, gets along with other dogs and cats that like dogs.... but don't come to the door and try and get in.... he is extremely protective.....


He has had his share of Vet visits.... even had to ware the cone of shame for a bit LOL

He has now turned 7 years old (as of June) and you can see the age catching up with him, he started with one gray whisker then another and then a gray goatee started showing up.... guess he is trying to copy my gray goatee :)


Did I mention he liked to play ball????????

I am dreading the day I have to say good bye to my bestist buddy, there is no way to prepare for the inevitable, It will be one of the saddest days of my life......

I'm not a very emotional person, but that day will release to more emotion then I can handle.







25 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page